The environment & history

The East Belgium region lies at the intersection between the Eifel and the Ardennes and is therefore in a very scenic and varied region . You will find the "Sleep Inn"  in the small town of "Born" in the community "Amel", about 5 minutes drive from the A42 and about 200 meters from the Vennbahn and is a home, ideally situated for exploring the region.

 

The municipality of Amel is one of the oldest settlement areas in the country, between the Fens and the Schneifel, in southern East Belgium. It is almost completely surrounded by forests.

 

The "Ameltal", with its nature reserves and bodies of water, offers the ideal habitat for birds and animals. Our surroundings are characterized by tall fir and deciduous forests, with some very old trees.

The contemplative rivers Emmels and Amel flow through untouched landscapes, as if made for a vacation close to nature.

Amel breathes ancient history.

The name Amel is of Celtic origin, the name Born is old German and both mean water. Numerous small lakes, rivers and dams shape the landscape.

Nature can be explored particularly well by bike.

 

RAVeL is the abbreviation for Réseau Autonome de Voies Lentes, meaning “independent network of slow paths”.

The Ravel program of the Walloon Region includes the conversion of over 1,400 kilometers of disused railway lines into cycling and hiking trails. The network in East Belgium is already very well developed and there are currently around 220 km of Ravel routes available.
Anyone who is on the route of the RAVeL bike and hiking trail between Sankt Vith and Weismes can enjoy wonderful views, peace and quiet, fresh air and little ascent. The pleasure is increased by beautiful rest areas such as in Montenau at the old train station.

Further suggestions for leisure activities can be found under Activities .

Die Umgebung & Geschichte

Die Region Ostbelgien liegt am Schnittpunkt zwischen Eifel und Ardennen und somit in einer landschaftlich sehr reizvollen und abwechslungsreichen Region. Das "Sleep Inn" findet Ihr  in dem kleinen Ort "Born" , in der Gemeinde "Amel" , ca. 5 Autominuten von der A42 und ca. 200 Meter von der Vennbahn entfernt und ist als Domizil, zum Erkunden der Region, optimal gelegen.

 

Die Gemeinde Amel gehört zu den ältesten Siedlungsgebieten des Landes, zwischen Venn und Schneifel, im südlichen Ostbelgien. Sie ist fast lückenlos von Wäldern umgeben.

 

Das "Ameltal", bietet mit seinen Naturschutzgebieten und Gewässern, den optimalen Lebensraum für die Vogel- und Tierwelt. Unsere Umgebung ist geprägt von hohen Tannen- und Laubwäldern, mit zum Teil sehr alten Baumbestand.

Die beschauliche Flüsse Emmels und Amel fließen durch unberührte Landschaften, wie geschaffen für einen naturnahen Urlaub.

Amel atmet steinalte Geschichte.

Der Name Amel ist keltischen Ursprungs, der Name Born ist altdeutsch und beide bedeuten Wasser. Zahlreiche kleine Seen, Flüsse und Talsperren prägen somit das Landschaftsbild.

Besonders gut erkunden lässt sich die Natur mit dem Fahrrad.

 

RAVeL ist die Abkürzung für Réseau Autonome de Voies Lentes, also „unabhängiges Netz langsamer Wege“.

Das Ravel-Programm der Wallonischen Region beinhaltet die Umfunktionierung von über 1.400 Kilometer stillgelegter Eisenbahntrassen zu Rad- und Wanderwegen. In Ostbelgien ist das Netz schon sehr gut ausgebaut und es stehen aktuell ca. 220 km Ravel-Strecken zur Verfügung.
Wer auf der Strecke des RAVeL Rad-und Wanderweges zwischen Sankt Vith und Weismes unterwegs ist, genießt herrliche Ausblicke, Ruhe, frische Luft und wenig Wegsteigung. Gesteigert wird das Vergnügen noch durch wunderschöne Rastplätze wie beispielsweise in Montenau am alten Bahnhof.

Weitere Vorschläge für Freizeitangebote findet Ihr unter Aktivitäten.